• VPA Home
  • Awards
  • Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year in Vermont

Distinguished Young Pharmacist

of the Year in Vermont

Awarded annually, the Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award recognizes a young pharmacist who has graduated within the last ten years. The chosen pharmacist must be both registered in Vermont and an active member of the Vermont Pharmacists Association as well as a participant in national pharmacy association, professional programs and/or community service. Nominate a pharmacist here!

2021 Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year: Caroline Kirkpatrick

Congratulations to Caroline Kirkpatrick, the 2021 recipient of the Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award, sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual and VPA. Caroline is an emergency department pharmacist at Springfield Hospital. While a student at Albany College of Pharmacy, Caroline served as the student president of the Vermont Pharmacists Association. Caroline currently serves as the treasurer of the Vermont Pharmacist Association and has been vital in planning social events for pharmacists. We were so proud that Caroline's mother Jane (also a VPA member and pharmacist!) joined us at our fall meeting in October 2021 to present Caroline with the award. Congratulations, Caroline, and thank you for all you do for the VPA!

2020 Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year: Melanie McAtee

Melanie has been an amazing voice for pharmacy at Rutland Regional Medical Center. Her co-workers note that she was born to be a hospital pharmacist and is such a well respected and loved member of the healthcare team. She also has led the Rutland Regional Medical Center residency program to success in its initial years, and she has implemented projects that serve patients as well as move the profession forward. Thank you Melanie for representing our profession so well! We were excited to present you with your award at our Vermont Pharmacy Week CE and Celebration!

2019 Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year: Lauren Bode

Lauren E. Bode Pharm.D., BCPS, has been named the 2019 Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year in Vermont. Bode is an Assistant Professor at the Albany College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences in Colchester.  She practices at Milton Family Practice. She is the 2020 First Vice-President of the Vermont Pharmacists Association. Bode graduated from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Pharmacy in 2016 with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree.

The Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year award is sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company.

Pharmacists Mutual, rated Excellent by A.M. Best, is a nationally recognized leader and provider of insurance products and risk management solutions for pharmacists and pharmacies, dentists and dental practices, associated businesses, and professionals. For over a century, Pharmacists Mutual has provided peace of mind to its members through comprehensive, quality products and services.

"Vermont Pharmacists Association" is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. 

Vermont Pharmacists Association 2019.

P.O. Box 267, St. Albans, VT, 05478

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software